450 S Durkin Drive, Ste B, Springfield, IL 62704
Testimonials 2017-03-22T15:26:46+00:00

Can Upper Cervical Care Help Me?

Can Upper Cervical Care Help Me?

Upper cervical care can help everyone – infants, seniors, mothers-to-be, athletes and accident victims will benefit from a healthy spine and nervous system! If you have a health problem, upper cervical doctors will strive to correct its cause, not just treat the symptoms. If you are symptom free, upper cervical care is one of the best ways to stay healthy.

To see more testimonials from patients around the country, please click HERE

ratings

5star

Recommended
Steve T.
2/23/16

Neck Hurt

I visited Dr Schurger with my neck really hurting. My left hip and shoulder also hurt. After he took a look, he provided a manipulation and my neck stopped hurting immediately. The pain in my hip and shoulder also was diminished. This was great and I thank you for helping me!! Steve T

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Steve, we’re so happy to have been able to help you and your family over these years. It truly is a privilege to serve, and we’re grateful that you choose us for your health needs.

5 star rating

Recommended
William B.
1/14/16

Mr

On my last visit to the Upper Cervical Health Center, I was still recovering from breaking my right ankle and wearing an orthopedic boot. This made it impossible for me to lay on the table. The doctor still used the evaluation devices to scan my upper neck and determine that I had a misalignment. He used manual tools to attempt to correct the misalignment. I always surprised at his ability to touch my back with his hands and identify the exact spot where correction is needed. When the doctor snapped the manual device, I immediately felt a sense of overwhelming relief flowing through my body. Using the scanning device to check results showed a significant improvement in my alignment and I enjoyed the feeling of will being. Everyone at the Upper Cervical Health Center is amazingly friendly and supportive. It is a very comfortable and relaxing place to be. I particularly like the way the receptionist answers the phone. She announces who you have reached states that, “I can help

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you for the review Bill!! We’re so happy to be able to continue to help you & keep you going!!

5 star

Recommended
Sr. Regina Marie B.
12/29/15

I pray that others will receive the wonderful help that I have. Thank you and Blessings in the New Year to all! Sr. Regina Marie

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you Sr Regina! We are blessed to be able to help you!! We look forward to an amazing New Year to help you continue your mission!!

5star

Recommended
Marianne N.
8/4/15

I’m a senior citizen who has never experienced such fine, friendly, professional, thorough treatment as I have here at the office of Dr. John Schurger. This was my first visit. I’m excited about the future. He is a good listener and has given me hope for some possible healing. Having taken X-rays, and given other testing is encouraging. I haven’t experienced this kind of interest from other specialists in the past 40 years..

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you for such kind words! We strive to deliver the best care, and I am glad you enjoyed your first visit! We’re looking forward to working with you and helping you improve your health!!

5star

Recommended
Richard H.
6/9/15

Life Changing

A couple of years ago I really hurt my neck lifting weights. Every time I turned my head it would pop and move uncontrollably in a violent manner. I tried botox, physical therapy, seen a neurologist, took muscle relaxing medication, and even seen another chiropractor, but to no use. I was mentally and physically exhausted and I thought I was going to be in pain and have a movement disorder for the rest of my life. Then I moved to the Springfield area and decided to try chiropactic care again. Ultimately, I found the right spot. It took awhile to get me back on track, but as of tomorrow I will have had one month of virtually problem free neck issues. The chiropractic care I have received did not happen over night, but I am almost 90% better than I have been for the last almost three years of my life. So if I had to define the help I have received “life changing” would define it.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Richard, Thank you for your testimonial!! We’re so glad we have been able to help you, and look forward to keeping you doing well for years to come!! Once you’ve had such a problem, you NEVER want it to come back, and we know that all too well here! The same care that is restorative is also preventative, and we appreciate how you share your change with so many people!!

5star

Recommended
Sister Mary Rose S.
6/9/15

I don’t know anyone who could have done better to correct all the problems that I had as the result of the car accident that I was in on April 1st. I’m happy that I knew about you and your work before the accident happened.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Sr Mary Rose, we’re blessed to know you and to have the opportunity to serve! I’m so happy that you had such a good result, and I’m confident it helped that you’ve been patient for as long as you have been before the accident. There’s no such thing as a “minor” car accident when it comes to our bodies. We appreciate your testimonial & how much you share the benefits of Upper Cervical care with those around you!

4star

Recommended
Karla F.
5/5/15

I always feel better when I leave.

Things seemed to be running late, and I did feel as if I was being hurried, but perhaps it was because I wasn’t feeling so good myself. Appointments are usually on time and there is always time for questions. Thank you.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you Sr Karla for your feedback! We appreciate the input, and apologize for your feeling rushed. The appointment before you had needed additional imaging that we had not anticipated, and it ran into your scheduled time. We try to be mindful of those things, and focus on giving you the best quality care each & every visit. Rest assured, if your appointment needed the extra time, new films, etc, when we weren’t planning on it, you would get it too!! Keep us posted if this continues to be a problem and we will evaluate appropriate changes in our schedule to better accommodate everyone.

4star

Recommended
Karla F.
5/5/15

Coming always makes me feel better.

My appt. was late which is most unusual, and I felt as if I was being hurried. That does not usually happen, so perhaps it was just the day. Maybe, I wasn’t feeling well so things seemed in a rush.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you Sr Karla for your feedback! We appreciate the input, and apologize for your feeling rushed. The appointment before you had needed additional imaging that we had not anticipated, and it ran into your scheduled time. We try to be mindful of those things, and focus on giving you the best quality care each & every visit. Rest assured, if your appointment needed the extra time, new films, etc, when we weren’t planning on it, you would get it too!! Keep us posted if this continues to be a problem and we will evaluate appropriate changes in our schedule to better accommodate everyone.

5star

Recommended
Sister Suzanne D.
4/29/15

Fantastic

I went in to Dr. Schurger today and I was very tired from working all day at the farm. I told Dr. Schurger about my left foot and how it was bothering me so much with sharp pain. After I received the adjustment from the Doctor, my foot began to tingle alittle and it felt like something was happening. I completed my errands and noticed that my foot did not hurt anymore and the tops of the foot released itself after the adjustment. Thank You! Doctor Schurger

1star

Merle K.
4/20/15

Merle King

Satisfied – friendly greeting, and professional service. If I have comlaints, you will be the first to know!

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thanks Merle! We appreciate being able to help you on your road to health with Upper Cervical Chiropractic! I’m certain that 1-star should probably be a 5-star; if its not, let us know what we can do to improve that rating!!

5star

Recommended
Janet K.
4/14/15

Straightening up more each day. I was way out of line.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
We are so excited for you and appreciate your kind words! Feel free to share with your friends and family the amazing changes you have seen in your health so they can benefit from Upper Cervical in the same way that you have.

4star

anonymous
3/31/15

The only problem is that he is now generally 15 to 20 minutes behind. The doctor and staff are friendly and attentive to you and your concerns.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Sometimes Dr. Schurger does fall behind schedule during our peak times and we do apologize for your wait. He does try his best to stay on schedule but it is not always possible. Our less busy times of day might be a good option, 9 AM is a good time if you like mornings, or 4 PM in the afternoon. Also, if you know you are going to need more time with Dr. Schurger to discuss your care, you can request an extended visit. Just let us know and we can schedule you extra time and stay on schedule.

5star

sr. helenw
3/1/15

I am grateful to be able to continue with my lifestyle because of the help I have received.

5star

laurier
2/18/15

I have been going to upper cervical center for a couple years now. I had really really bad back pain, VERY MISERABLE. I have not felt this good since I was a teenager. I have been to lots of chiropractors, nothing is as good as upper cervical adjustments. I visit about 7 times a year is all and don’t have neck pain anymore! What a miracle!

1star

elizabethr
2/13/15

I don’t know anyone that needs to go to a Chiropractors unless they have one they have had for years.mine have all died so I found this one online to try. I don’t want to rate him as yet until i see some results

5star

susanf
1/6/15

Upper Cervical Health Centers of America has helped me a lot in the past year. I feel I can do more than I used to do before I started going in. I have told all of my friends and family to go see them.

5star

elizabethr
12/9/14

I finally found out what has been my problem all these yrs since the 1979 accident & why other methods of Chiropractic did not help me.Dr Schurger is very thorough & explains in detail so you can understand the problem & how his adjustments can help.I appreciate all the information he sent home with me that show his interest in the adjustment staying longer.

4star

sr. margaret annc
11/21/14

I was very pleased with the time I spent at my initial appointment at Upper Cervical. Everything was done in a very professional and efficient manner and was explained as we went along. What motivated me to seek this type of medical intervention were the many positive and satisfied comments from friends who did so several years ago and have continued up to the present.

5star

marjories
11/14/14

Dr. Shurger always takes the time to listen. He is extremely knowledgable, and I always feel I learned something every time I have an appointment.

5star

sr. suzanned
11/11/14

Dr. Schurger continues to give excellent care and healthy advice on how to continue my healing on my back and shoulder. I find that the information that he gives makes sense in the healing process of your nervous system. Thank You!

4star

anonymous
10/25/14

A very caring environment and has helped me live a much more productive life. Thank you!

5star

josiahm
10/8/14

I am a very active person that participates in full contact sparring and martial arts. I get out of alignment often due to the nature of full contact fighting and know when I am out. Dr. Schurger is very helpful and gets me in pretty much immediately when needed to get me back in place. He is also very good at explaining and showing you what is wrong and how he will correct the problem, which makes me feel that I am in good hand. I always feel better an appointment.

5star

sr. suzanned
9/10/14

I was intense pain from the neck area, to left shoulder and arm. Dr Schurger reviewed everything with me and took the time to hear what I had to say about this pain. His exam was very extensive including my history of injuries and family history. His personality is wonderful and uplifting. Just in the first adjustment, I could feel less pain. My right Bells Palsy eye started to have tears in it which I never had before and I could see it re-adjusting itself. I have had Bells Palsy for over 15 years. This all amazing to me and I hope to continue with getting myself healthy again. Thank you Dr. Schurger!

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Sr Suzanne, we’re so happy that you’ve decided to share your improvements with us and for giving us the opportunity to help you. So many people in our town suffer needlessly after being told they’ll likely need surgery or drugs & then have to wait a month or longer to see a doctor. We’re much more proactive and make room for new patients as soon as possible!! We’re so glad we were able to help you so quickly!!

4star

anonymous
8/20/14

None.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you for your review! We do our best to provide a pleasant & relaxing experience as we help you on the road to health!

1star

sondrab
7/29/14

Ihad xrays last week from which dr. was able to correct the position of 2 cervical bones. I have been much more comfortible

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Your comments are quite positive Sondra, I assume you meant to give a good review. Please let us know if you are dissatisfied in any way.Thank you for your review! We do our best to provide a pleasant & relaxing experience as we help you on the road to health!

5star

anonymous
7/19/14

The doctor is very helpful and informative!

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate your business so much. Kirsty Hennessy217-698-7900uchca-springfield@att.net

5star

janices
7/12/14

All my physical problems, including undergoing chemotherapy for leukemia, seem to stay under control with regular visits. I had no side effects from the chemo.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate your business so much. Kirsty Hennessy217-698-7900uchca-springfield@att.net

5star

anonymous
7/6/14

The staff are very helpful.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate your business so much. Kirsty Hennessyucha-springfield@att.net

5star

missye
5/30/14

My experience has been life changing. I now have the ability to complete daily activities without the pain I have endured for years.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate your business so much. Kirsty Hennessyuchca-springfield@att.net

5star

patriciaw
5/23/14

I have psoriasis and a year ago I was pretty broke out, but after a year of coming to Dr Schuger at Upper Cervical Health Center, I am so much better! Not completely gone, bit there are fewer spots and no itching. Thank you Dr Schuger!

5star

anonymous
5/6/14

The staff are absolutely wonderful. It’s very easy to get an appointment.

5star

terrym
5/3/14

I appreciate the improved stability after coming to Upper Cervical. I am more conscious of how important upper alignment is. I would encourage everyone to investigate.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
It is truly amazing how many benefits people see beyond their original complaint when coming in. We’re glad to help!!

5star

lisap
5/1/14

Dr. Schurger helps to keep me in sync – physically & internally. Seen huge improvements in my overall physical demeanor over the course of a year. Now it is more maintenance than anything! I even bring my 2 – 15 year old boys with ADHD. They seem to be improving and staying more athletic than in the past!

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
The bigger picture on how the body heals is seen when people are under care. For improved athletic performance, the following free article is a great resource: http://eepurl.com/TiQvn

1star

anonymous
3/11/14

They do not disclose that they are out-of-network provider, therefore you are at their mercy to pay whatever price they decide to charge.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
We are out-of-network providers, and our financial policy states that all patients are on a cash basis until their respective insurance coverage and deductible are verified by our staff, which goes out with our new patient paperwork, and we do not start a consultation (always free of charge) without these documents signed. However, we go out of our way to make our care affordable to everyone, with or without insurance. We offer a truly unique service (Upper Cervical) within Chiropractic that is not recognized by the insurance companies, which is why we remain out-of-network. We choose to focus on providing the best care to our patients, and not what an insurance company would dictate in their narrow view of medical necessity. That being said, we do work with insurance companies when possible to help with the affordability of care.

5star

johng
3/6/14

Upper Cervical Care has been very helpful to my family. It has relieved the following conditions: inability to go go sleep, ongoing shoulder muscle soreness, constipation in a toddler, and unclear thinking. Overall, we feel and function better. Thank you, Dr. Schurger!

5star

alyssas
2/28/14

I’ve suffered from migraine-like headaches, decreased appetite and chronic fatigue for 6 months and longer. The day after my appointment I realized that my energy was back and for the first time in a month, I had actual hunger pains. Still haven’t had a headache after 2 days since being adjusted, but I can see that my neck doesn’t seen as right as it was before. ūüôā

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
We’re so happy for you Alyssa! Your last sentence is confusing, but I suspect you meant to write “…that my neck doesn’t seem as tight as before.”

5star

carriem
2/27/14

Seen in a timely manner. Wonderful, courteous service I always feel so much better after I leave Dr. Schurger’s office.:

5star

janes
2/20/14

Check in is very easy by their new system. Comfortable accomodations. Great service & Dr. explains progress as charted. Pleasant staff.

Response from Upper Cervical Health Centers
Going to a new office can be scary, especially with all the myths about chiropractic. We do our best to provide a pleasant & relaxing experience as we help you on the road to health!

5star

anonymous
2/18/14

Dr. Shurger assesses my condition at each visit and makes any necessary adjustments. He is interested in a person’s entire health, not just a localized problem.

5star

sharonk
12/20/13

After countless attempts at physical therapy and pain medicines Dr. Schurger has helped me feel get my back pain under control. I will continue to my therapy so I can keep my pain under control.